Wandering without a Plan – Paris.France – December.2012

My sister read my last post and reminded me that these were supposed to be short and sweet.  So here are the bullet points:

– We forced ourselves up the next morning and headed to the Musee d’Orsay. I really am not one for art museums (ironically I’m the daughter of a high school art teacher), but I wanted to see this museum because it used to be an old train station. I am slightly more interested in architecture than art and oohed and ahhed at the initial sight of the museum. We had lunch at the cafe, in which Jay thought his dish of a lamb casserole was a little bland, and I had a cream of mushroom soup, so nothing exciting.

the outside of the Musee d'Orsay... nice building.

the outside of the Musee d’Orsay… nice building.

but the inside is beautiful!

but the inside is beautiful!

this clock makes everyone a photographer

this clock makes everyone a photographer

– We walked over to Shakespeare and Co. Bookstore, which is rather famous. I would have loved to sit down with a few books to skim through for awhile, but 1. I know Jay is not one for literature (as I am not one for art) and 2. It was hella crowded! Too crowded for a small bookstore and the crowd made it seem even smaller.  I did not like it at all.

The exterior of Shakespeare and Co.  Didn't take any pics of the inside bc I just wanted to get out of there

The exterior of Shakespeare and Co. Didn’t take any pics of the inside bc I just wanted to get out of there

– We took a peek at the Notre Dame and was a little disappointed. Last year there was a beautiful Christmas tree; this year make-shift bleachers took up the space. Not so nice.  Check out how it looked in 2011 https://attentiondeficittraveler.wordpress.com/2012/12/09/european-escape-paris-december-2011/

Beautiful, but not so much as it was in 2012.

still beautiful, but not so much as it was in 2011.

– At some point, we made it to the Luxembourg Gardens, but looking at the pictures, it was day time, and the pic of the Notre Dame is night time?  Don’t know, but I’ll just add the picture here.  The gardens were nice, but desolate.  Probably because it’s Winter and it was starting to rain.  I’m sure on a nice Summer day, it’s much more crowded and much more beautiful.

We read that it was hard to find an available iconic green chair to sit and relax, but this day - no problem.

We read that it was hard to find an available iconic green chair to sit and relax, but this day – no problem.

– I also read about this store called Deyrolle (46 rue du Bac) that I thought I could buy something for my niece who wants a bird, but my sister refuses to buy her one.  It’s a taxidermy store and also sells shells and crustaceans and weird things like that.  We found it, but as we entered the store, it looked like a small garden store.  I thought we were in the wrong store, but saw stairs leading to the second floor.  Once I climbed the stairs, I was immediately greeted by a baby elephant (stuffed, of course!).  I was excited as I saw a bunch of stuffed canaries.  I was less excited as I saw the price tags.  Nothing under 100 EUR!  Still a great store to check out.

Started to take pictures, but then Jay pointed to a sign that read, "NO PICTURES ALLOWED."  oops

Cool looking store, huh?

– Okay, so I think this night was the highlight of Jay’s time here.  Of course, it’s because of food.  Again, he wanted to check out another Anthony Bourdain spot called L’Avant Comptoir (9 Carrefour de l’Odeon).  We walked right by it and when we peeked into the window, it looked like a bar.  We noticed that the menu was hanging from the ceiling, but from what I could make out, it looked like desserts.  I actually told Jay I rather eat a good meal, but he didn’t listen to me (as usual) and headed inside.  We were greeted by a couple who spoke English and they explained that this was the BEST place in Paris!  Well, okay then.  They also suggested that we tell the owner how much we wanted to spend and let him decide what to make us.  Well, okay then.  Jay asked for six dishes (this is a “tapas” place and all the dishes are small).  They were so tasty that Jay asked for six more!  Yes, we had 3 glasses of wine each and good food – this is a definite MUST-GO destination in Paris.  Here are our twelve dishes:

1.  Croquettes de jambon "Ibaiona" d' Eric Ospital.  It comes with three croquettes, but we got excited and starting eating before taking a picture.

1. Croquettes de jambon “Ibaiona” d’ Eric Ospital. It comes with three croquettes, but we got excited and starting eating before taking a picture.

2.  Tataki de Thon (like seared ahi)

2. Tataki de Thon (like seared ahi)

3. & 4.  Macaroon de Boudin Noir Bearnais (blood sausage macaroon) and Poirine de Porc Caramelisee (my favorite one)

3. & 4. Macaroon de Boudin Noir Bearnais (blood sausage macaroon) and Poirine de Porc Caramelisee (my favorite one)

5.  Brochette Foie Gras, Piquillos, Jus Acidule (I passed on foie gras, but Jay loved it)

5. Brochette Foie Gras, Piquillos, Jus Acidule (I passed on foie gras, but Jay loved it)

6.  Sandwich Poulet sans Pain (this I can translate:  Chicken Sandwich without the Bread)

6. Sandwich Poulet sans Pain (this I can translate: Chicken Sandwich without the Bread)

7.  Looks like dessert doesn't it?  Cone de Tartare de Thon Chantilly de Raifort (basically, raw ahi in a cone)

7. Looks like dessert doesn’t it? Cone de Tartare de Thon Chantilly de Raifort (basically, raw ahi in a cone)

8.  Quasi de Veau Rose, Foie de Morue (Veau = veal, Rose = raw)

8. Quasi de Veau Rose, Foie de Morue (Veau = veal, Rose = raw)

9.  Langue d'Oiseau Bouillon de Crustaceaus (I don't know what langue d'oiseau is, but I guess that bouillon de crustaceas is shellfish broth.  Whatever it translate to, it had mushrooms under that cream)

9. Langue d’Oiseau Bouillon de Crustaceaus (I don’t know what langue d’oiseau is, but I guess that bouillon de crustaceas is shellfish broth. Whatever it translate to, it had mushrooms under that cream)

10.  Gaufre, Artichaut, Jambon (ham on a waffle!)

10. Gaufre, Artichaut, Jambon (ham on a waffle!)

11.  Fricasee de Coeurs de Canard (Canard?  Yes, that's duck!  I LOVE duck!  But Coeurs is heart.  Duck heart?  I passed.  Jay loved it)

11. Fricasee de Coeurs de Canard (Canard? Yes, that’s duck! I LOVE duck! But Coeurs is heart. Duck heart? I passed. Jay loved it)

12.  Saucisson Chaud de Couenne et Pied de Porc.

12. Saucisson Chaud de Couenne et Pied de Porc.  Our last dish.  It was super yummy.

L'Avant means "before"  and because there's La Comptoir Bistrot next door, it means before you go to the restaurant.

L’Avant means “before” and because there’s Le Comptoir Bistrot next door, it means before you go to the restaurant.

nice and cozy and standing room only.

nice and cozy and standing room only.

Day 2 was very successful and very tiring.  But we got fed really well and had three glasses of wine EACH at dinner.  Excellent!

2 thoughts on “Wandering without a Plan – Paris.France – December.2012

Leave a Reply

